Things have got to change!

I still feel so empty inside, except from my half torn and damaged heart. Something is missing and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. My mental health is literally impacting upon everything that I’m doing at the moment and I don’t feel in control of it at all. This doesn’t only make day to day functioning difficult, but it’s stopping me from moving forward with my life. Things have got to change.

I see a number of my friends on Facebook constantly posting things about how happy they are and that life is fantastic, all the whilst I’m onlooking from afar, somewhat envious of what they have. Does that make me a bad person? 

I’d just like my life to run smoothly for once in a while. I’d like to be in a relationship not because I feel I should, but because I’ve fallen in love with someone. I’m so desperately seeking that happiness that so many people around me. I’ve had it before and I like it again but everything is the same old and I don’t often get a chance to meet new people because of my current situation with my injured foot, so I don’t get out at all at the moment. 

It’s not even so much about being in a relationship. I don’t feel like I’ve got many friends anymore. I used to be so close to some very special people, yet now they seem like they are drifting away from me more and more as the days go by. I kind of feel like I’m being left behind. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so pleased that things are going well for my friends and I wish them great happiness in their lives too, I just wish my life was moving along too.

I’ve recently become an official “supporter” of a biker club in the hope that I can start building new and stronger friendship with people. I come from a biker background and have always been surrounded by bikes and bike clubs etc, so I know firsthand just how close knit the biker community is and maybe, just maybe this is what I need right now to fill the emptiness I’m feeling.

I just hope my life starts moving forward soon, although I don’t really see that happening until after my surgery and my foot is on the mend. Even then I feel it’s going to be difficult but something has got to change or I’ll have a complete meltdown I’m sure.

Author: tearsandfears83

Hello there, I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome you to my blog. I just like to start by mentioning that I am dyslexic so please be prepared for the typos as I'm sure there will be many. Anyway moving on, this is the first time that I have done anything like a blog online as I usually write my thoughts and feelings down on paper....but thought I should get up to date with the times! I have a degree in psychology and have completed my MEd in Counselling in Education. All of the work that I have done for my current degree is based on self-harm in one way or another! I have quite a lot of first hand experience with mental health issues as I've battled with them on and off for a number of years now. I feel that I'm at the stage in my life where I can finally help other people that have experienced similar experiences to me. I know that this sounds cheesy, but I really want to help people to overcome issue that they face as I feel that everything that I've been through will have been worth it. I still struggle at times with my own mental health issues and often need to let my feelings. In previous times I would have used self-harm to help me though, but I'm now able to direct my emotions in other ways such as drawing, writing poetry and through music. I'm unsure if anyone other than myself will read anything I write and that's okay. I understand that I can't change the world with what I write, but maybe I'll be able to bring people a little comfort in knowing that if I can get through very low points in my life, then they can too!

3 thoughts on “Things have got to change!”

  1. Hugs to you. I’ve made so many changes to manage my mind. I feel like I’m tribeless–besides my immediate family–my friends keep living and I’m in idle mental illness recovery, which is mostly depression these days. I’m working from home. I’ve been waiting for this. But now that I have it I’m lost. Everything is good but my mind isn’t content. I totally understand what you are feeling. If only we could enjoy physical and mental recovery time and trust that great times are coming our way. Thanks for you post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment