No turning back now

Well that’s it. There’s no turning back for me now. I’ve finally managed to complete and submit my dissertation. I have very mixed feelings about this. Obviously I feel a massive sense of achievement for doing it but I also feel a little empty inside.

I’ve been working on my research for several years now so it has kind of been the one constant thing in my life. I don’t seem to do very well with change. I like a set routine so I know what to expect. Now I don’t have that and feel a little shaky. I know that this is only going to get worse over time unless I find something else to do with my time.

Unfortunately because I still have my leg in plaster I’m not very mobile. Once my foot is sorted I can actively start looking for work and attempt to put my knowledge and experiences into practice, but at the moment I don’t know when that will be.

I rather concerned about my mental health in the meantime. I’m very up and down at the moment and seem to be going from one extreme to another which is very frustrating. I don’t seem to be able to control this at all and this is another thing that stresses me out. I have an appointment with my GP in a few weeks so at least I’ll be able to voice my concerns then.

I know that I should be happy about completing my work. It wasn’t easy and and a number of times I was ready to quit and throw it all away, but I didn’t and that was down to the support I had from my fantastic tutor. So as hard as it is for me to do, I am going to try and be proud of myself and enjoy that fact that I don’t need to worry about my work any more.

 

Author: tearsandfears83

Hello there, I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome you to my blog. I just like to start by mentioning that I am dyslexic so please be prepared for the typos as I'm sure there will be many. Anyway moving on, this is the first time that I have done anything like a blog online as I usually write my thoughts and feelings down on paper....but thought I should get up to date with the times! I have a degree in psychology and have completed my MEd in Counselling in Education. All of the work that I have done for my current degree is based on self-harm in one way or another! I have quite a lot of first hand experience with mental health issues as I've battled with them on and off for a number of years now. I feel that I'm at the stage in my life where I can finally help other people that have experienced similar experiences to me. I know that this sounds cheesy, but I really want to help people to overcome issue that they face as I feel that everything that I've been through will have been worth it. I still struggle at times with my own mental health issues and often need to let my feelings. In previous times I would have used self-harm to help me though, but I'm now able to direct my emotions in other ways such as drawing, writing poetry and through music. I'm unsure if anyone other than myself will read anything I write and that's okay. I understand that I can't change the world with what I write, but maybe I'll be able to bring people a little comfort in knowing that if I can get through very low points in my life, then they can too!

2 thoughts on “No turning back now”

  1. Congratulations on finishing the dissertation! I understand what you’re saying about the emptiness from completing it. I think when your foot is better, your mental health will improve. Having an injury can produce sad feelings, and it’s understandable. I’m hoping that in the meantime you can take some time to relax and find some things you like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment